Forty-three MPs took oath as ministers in first mega cabinet expansion (in the second term) by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday.

In a major reshuffle, Prime Minister Narendra Modi brought in Sarbananda Sonowal, Narayan Rane and Jyotiraditya Scindia as Cabinet ministers while dropping as many as 12 ministers including Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, IT and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad and I&B Minister Prakash Javadekar.

About 15 Cabinet ministers, including some new faces, were sworn-in at the swearing in ceremony held in the Darbar Hall of the Rashtrapati Bhawan. This is the first reshuffle in the Council of Ministers by Prime Minister Modi since he presumed charge for a second term in May 2019. With this reset, Modi has brought in young faces and has also given representation to various social groups and regions in the reshuffle.

Here’s a small list of who’s in and who’s out amid cabinet revamp:

Who’s In:

Jyotiraditya Scindia, Narayan Rane, Sarbananda Sonowal, Anupriya Patel, Kapil Patil, Meenakshi Lekhi, Ajay Bhatt, Bhupender Yadav, Sunita Duggal, Pashupati Paras, Bharati Pawar, Ashwini Vaishnaw and Shobha Karandlaje.

Who’s Out :

Harsh Vardhan, Babul Supriyo, Ashwini Kumar Choubey, Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Santosh Gangwar, Sanjay Dhotre, Debasree Chaudhuri, Ratan Lal Kataria, Sadananda Gowda, Thawarchand Gehlot, Pratap Sarangi and Rao Saheb Dhanve Patil.

Earlier today, dropped 12 senior Cabinet ministers resigned before the mega reshuffle.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Joydev Mishra


Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: