The 60th National Film Awards were announced yesterday. Actor Irrfan Khan has added another feather to his much decorated cap with his essay of the athlete-turned-dacoit in Paan Singh Tomar. Irrfan has won the National Award for Best Actor for this film. The film has also won the Best Hindi Film Award. The Best (non feature) film Award was conferred on Shepherds of Paradise produced and directed by Raja Shabir Khan.

In the feature film category, a total of 38 films from 14 languages have been selected for the 60th National Awards. Chittagong (Hindi) and 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam) have jointly won the Indira Gandhi award for the best debut attempt of a director.

The award for the best popular film for providing wholesome entertainment has been won by Vicky Donor (Hindi) and Ustad Hotel (Malayalam).

The award for the best director was given to Shivaji Lotan Patil for the film Dhag (Marathi).

The award for the best actor has been jointly won by Irrfan playing the title role in Paan Singh Tomar and Vikram Gokhale for the film Anumati (Marathi).

Usha Jadhav won the Best Actress Award for her performance in Dhag (Marathi).

The award for the best supporting actor has been given to Anu Kapoor for his role of ecentric doctor in Vicky Donor. The award for the best supporting actress was jointly won by Dolly Ahluwalia for the film Vicky Donor and Kalpana for the film ThanichallaNjan (Malyalam).

The best child artist award has been shared by Master Virendra Pratap for Dekh Indian Circus (Hindi) and Master Minon for 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam).

Shankar Mahadevan won the Awrd for Best Male Playback Singer for his song Bolo Na (Chittagong) and Samhita won the Best Female Playback Singer Award for her song Palakein Naa Moon Don from the film Aarti Anklekartikekar (Marathi).

Sujoy Ghosh won the award for the best screenplay writer (original) for Kahaani. The Award for Best Screenplay (Adapted) was given to Bhavesh Mandalia and Umesh Shukla for OMG. The Award for Best Lyrics went to Prasoon Joshi for Bolo Na from film Chittagong.

The award for Best Dialogue went to Anjali Menon for Ustad Hotel (Malyalam).

A special jury award has been conferred on Rituparno Ghosh and Nawazuddin Siddiqui for the films Chitrangadha (Bengali), Kahaani, Gangs of Wasseypur, Dekh Indian circus and Talaash (Hindi).

The award for the best choreography has been conferred on Pt. Birju Maharaj for the film Vishwaroopam (Tamil).


Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: