The Hyderabad based IPL franchise will no longer be a part of the IPL family. Deccan Chargers have been thrown out of the IPL because the owners were unable to provide a bank guarantee of Rs. 100 crore by 5 PM on Friday, as dictated by the Bombay High Court. Earlier, BCCI had cancelled the license of Deccan Charges last month due to issues of non payment of the players’ fees.

Deccan Chargers won the second season of IPL in 2009 under the captaincy of Australian wicket-keeper/batsman Adam Gilchrist. Sri Lankan player Kumar Sangkkara was the skipper of the DC in the last season of IPL. Obviously the fans of the franchise in Hyderabad will be let down by this decision. But it would be interesting to see which teams snap up the players freed from the DC.

Like it? Share with your friends!



Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: