Padma Award Winners List for 2017

By First Posted: Jan 27, 2017 Fri 2:16 AM Updated: Jan 27, 2017 Fri 2:20 AM
Padma Award Winners List for 2017
Image Credit: North Bridge Times

Padma Awards are an honour bestowed upon the people India is proud of for their talents, achievements and contributions to the country. From politicians, to sportspersons, to entertainers and social workers, the lists usually comprise people from various walks of life. This year's list of Padma Awardees includes some unsung heroes, the likes of who have never been encouraged in this manner before. But on the other hand, it also includes some big names that not everyone would say are deserving of the special honour!

Here is the complete list of the awardees.

Padma Vibhushan awardees

  • Sharad Pawar
  • Murli Manohar Joshi
  • K.J.Yesudas
  • Mufti Mohammad Sayeed
  • P.A. Sangma
  • Sunder Lal Patwa
  • Padma Bhushan awardee
  • Vishwa Mohan Bhat

Padma Shri awardees

  • P V Sindhu (sportsperson)
  • Virat Kohli (spportsperson)
  • Kailash Kher (singer)
  • Anuradha Paudwal (singer)
  • TK Vishwanathan (secretary general of the Lok Sabha)
  • Kanwal Sibal (ex-foreign Secy)
  • Prof G Venkataraman Subbaiah (academician)
  • Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri (poet)
  • Birka Bahadur Limbu Morenga (literature)
  • Warepa Naba Nil (theatre actor)
  • Mukund Nayar (singer)
  • Sukri Bommegowda
  • Basanti Visht (dancer)
  • Chemanchari Kuni Raman Nayyar (dancer)
  • Sadhu Mehr (theatre actor)
  • TK Murthi (musician)
  • Imrat Khan (musician)
  • Virender Singh (musician)
  • Baoa Devi (painter)
  • Tilak Gitai (painting)
  • Narendra Kohli (writer)
  • Bhawna Somaiya (journalist)
  • Kashinath Pandit (author)
  • Sakshi Malik (sportsperson)
  • Deepa Karmakar (sportsperson)
  • Vikas Gowda (sportsperson)
  • Shreejesh (sportsperson)
  • Shekhar Naik (Skipper, visually challenged cricket)
  • Mariyappan Thangavelu (Paralympian)
Most Read